• WEEKEND FULL OF WEDDINGS…

This same time last year I booked two wedding cakes and a grooms cake and swore I would never do it again, due to the strenuous work and deadline of the weddings.  But I did it again with two wedding cakes and a grooms cake that all fed the same amount as last year. I guess I felt like I was up for the challenge and I went to school with the ones getting married, so I was a bit excited to play a part. With the help of my wonderful parents helping me bake and my lovely Ben’s artistic eye for weenie dog cakes, the cakes were much easier to complete. So it all began…

Cake #1 – 05.16.09

Amanda booked her wedding cake with me awhile back. She had the cake picked out that she liked so it went rather smoothly and quickly. She decided on a four tier round cake with alternating yellow and chocolate cake flavors. It  had a wide ribbon with a smaller ribbon around the bottom, second and top tiers and had an elegant monogram design on the third tier. Her colors were light blue and black and the cake was to feed 150. So with all the info, I took off.

We baked 2-14″, 2-12″, 2-9″ &  2-6″ round cakes. The top and second tier were chocolate and the bottom and thir tier were yellow.  After covering the cakes with buttercream, I stacked the first three tiers. Since the cake would be so tall, we left off the top tier and would later take it to the reception hall to place it on top there. I placed a 1.5″ blue satin ribbon around the bottom two tiers and the top followed by a small black satin ribbon. I then placed a blue satin bow in the front of the three tiers. I mixed up some black buttercream and  freehanded the monogram design on the third tier. After piping the shell border, it was finished until we arrived at the reception hall. I placed the top tier on, piped the border and it was complete after 8 hours baking/decorating.

Congrats Mr. and Mrs. Justin Zellers! God Bless you both!

Cake #2 – 05.16.09

Brandy called last year to book her wedding cake and grooms cake. For the wedding cake she decided on a light pink square vanilla cake with darker pink accents to feed 100.

We baked 2-12″, 2-8″, 2-6″ square cakes. I covered the cakes with light pink buttercream and stacked the tiers. I piped the swag design on the bottom tier and the ribbon design on the top tier. For the middle tier I used a stencil and scraped dark pink buttercream over the openings to attach it to the cake. I then peeled off the stencil and was left with the elegant scroll design. I finished it with a dark pink shell border around it tier and moved the cake aside for the good ‘ole grooms cake…

Cake #3 – 05.16.09

Brandy decided on a weenie dog in the shape of a “G” for their last name. I was a little worried about this cake, but knew I was up for the challenge and repeated to myself, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” So after lots of praying and sketching possibilities, Ben joined me in on the fun. The cake was made from a 14″ round chocolate cake. He carved the general shape of the dog for me and handed over the knife so I could make a complete mess. After cutting here and carving there, we had us a weenie dog in the shape of a “G”. I then mixed up reddish-brown fondant and covered the dog. We shaped it’s ears paws and tail with the same color. We then made it’s nose, eyes and collar out of fondant. For the dog tag, we shaped a heart, painted with luster dust for a silver shine and carved a “G” in the middle. After 12 hours of baking/decorating, both cakes were complete.

Congrats Brandy and thanks so much for bringing on such a fun challenge.

As I’ve always been told, something bad will eventually happen to one of the cakes, and it just so happened that today was the day. After we delivered the pink wedding cake and weenie dog cake to on eof Brandy’s friends, she was to take the cakes to Murfreesboro, which is about 2+ hours from Dover. The cakes were in the back of her SUV. Even after using many dowel rods for support, lining the vehicle with padding and non-slick mats, the sun and heat were not so  easy to work with. The buttercream could not compete. Brandy contacted me after the cake arrived and said that it had shifted and the icing had cracked. Even with so much support, and air-conditioning, the direct sunlight can wreak havok through windows. They decided to serve the cake from the back and use a dummy cake for the wedding. I hate so bad this happened, but at least they still had the cake to serve.  Risks are involved in long distant transports and anything can happen. I just hate this happened to you guys. I hope you had a wonderful day and many more happy years to come. God Bless.

2 Responses to “• WEEKEND FULL OF WEDDINGS…”

  1. All the cakes look beautiful, Nice work on the free hand design. Love the dog. So sorry for the miss hap, that’s why i don’t deliver W-cakes stacked.

  2. Bev! Everyone LOVED the cakes!!! Everyone raved about both but especially the weenie dog! My florist was able to find a dummy cake to display but ended up shifting your pink cake around and putting some flowers around it where the icing shifted!! Everyone kept going on and on about how great it tasted! They were both AMAZING!! Sucks that it shifted cause it could have been even prettier but it all worked out and it will give us plenty to look back on! Sara was more worried about it than I was! I think the buttercream is where it went wrong… just too hot… but anyway…thanks for all of your hardwork… they were just what we wanted…although we REALLY hated cutting the weenie cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment